Israel is a UN member state and implements UN sanctions via article 3 of the Prevention of Distribution and Financing of Weapons of Mass Destruction Law 2018.

Israel has several different sanctions and counter-terror financing regimes which are administered by different governmental authorities. These regimes include, inter alia:

  • A general (non-thematic) prohibition on trade with individuals and entities designated as “enemies” of Israel under the Trading with the Enemy Ordinance 1939.  This regime is administrated by the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs.  Under this regime, the ministry has also issued additional specific prohibitions on dealing with individuals and entities associated with the development of Iran’s nuclear weapons program, based on UN Security Council sanctions.
  • A counterterrorism and terror financing regime administered by the Israeli Ministry of Defence under the Combating Terror Law-2016.
  • A regime focused on preventing the financing and proliferation of weapons of mass destruction administered by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs under (inter alia) the Preventing the Proliferation and Financing of Weapons of Mass Destruction Law-2018.

The Trading with the Enemy Ordinance 1939 was enacted during the British mandate, but is still in force today, almost in its original form, imposing a complete ban on trade with “enemy countries” and residents of enemy countries.  Currently, Iran, Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon are designated as “enemy countries”.

The Combatting the Iranian Nuclear Programme Law 2012 places restrictions on economic activity with foreign corporations conducting business activity with Iran or foreign parties that Israel has listed as being involved in Iran’s nuclear programme.

The Prevention of Distribution and Financing of Weapons of Mass Destruction Law 2018 bans economic activity with parties listed for involvement in the proliferation of WMDs in the listed countries (currently Iran and North Korea).

The Law on Combatting Terrorism 2016 (and amendments) provides for sanctions, including asset freezes and property seizures, on those deemed to be terrorists by the Israeli Government.

The Freezing of Funds Paid by the Palestinian Authority in Connection with Terrorism from Revenues Transferred by the Israeli Government Law 2018 empowers the Israeli Government to freeze payments to the Palestinian Authority equal to the amount spent by the Palestinian Authority on payments to families of people killed, injured, or imprisoned for attacks on Israel.

National Competent Authorities

The Sanctions Bureau, Ministry of Finance, is the sanctions authority in Israel.

The National Bureau for Counter Terror Financing of Israel (NBCTF), under the Ministry of Defence, is the authority for terrorist sanctions.